I went to watch TFC and it was a BLOODY BIG DEAL.


I have never been the biggest soccer fan. I usually only watch it when either the World or Euro Cup is on. I, myself haven’t played since I was about 12 years old.

The following is a list of the most important soccer moments in my life:

1)Feeling dejected when I realized I was leaving Poland a week before Euro 2012.

2)Feeling very dejected as Poland was eliminated from Euro 2012 in the group stages.

3)Watching my Italian cousins lose their minds as Italy advanced to the Euro 2012 finals beating Germany 2-1.

4)Getting thrown out of a minor league soccer game for pushing a kid to the ground because it was the only way I could stop him from flying past me.

5)Watching Zinedine Zidane giving the best head-butt I’ve ever seen outside of the WWE.

 Now I live in Toronto, and was able to be the lucky recipient of tickets to a Toronto Football Club match.

And I have to say, it was a bloody brilliant time.

The first thing you’re going to need to do if you want to get over to BMO Field is not take the 509 Harbourfront bus. Find another route with the TTC. Carpool. Hell, swim along the lake to the stadium. It will probably be faster. The 509 will drag you through all the construction near the lake front. I might have to look it up but I think it took me as long to get to BMO Field as it did for Odysseus to get back to Ithaca.

However, maybe this bus ride is just my penance for being able to sit inside such a beautiful stadium. You can actually see the Toronto skyline from you seats (take note future stadium designers). It’s also a small stadium and very close to the pitch, as the guy who got a ball on his table full of beers will tell you. True story.

Photo by: ME

Photo by: ME

After showing off of my mastery of Instagram by taking a few photos, I headed to the concessions stands to grab some food.

What does one eat and drink at a soccer game? My go to sporting event “nourishment “ of beer, hotdogs, and peanuts seems too American for the world’s game. I was watching the beautiful game now and had to carry myself with class. So I went with a rum and coke, pulled pork sandwich, and mini-cinnamon doughnuts. Safe to say, I nailed it.

Before the game, one of the biggest questions I had about soccer was finally answered:

WHY SCARVES?

WHY SCARVES?

You always see scarves at soccer games. Soccer fans love themselves some warm-neck-accessories. The National Anthem came on, and all the scarves were raised as people sang. It just made sense for reasons I can’t explain. It seemed like a better way to show one’s pride in their team than bringing a huge flag to piss of the family behind you.

In the 21st minute, I witnessed what I know consider one of the most exciting plays in sports: The Penalty Kick. Jermain Defoe (who I have been told is a bloody big deal) lined up for his PK and I realized how tense these simple kicks are. You’re basically given a free goal. All you have to do is not screw it up. But, that one sliver of doubt can be like torture as some of the spectator’s faces at the game showed. Luckily (or skilfully?), I didn’t have to question how much of a bloody big deal Defoe is because he tied it up on the PK.

One thing I want to note about going to a soccer game, versus watching it on TV is the effect diving has on the experience. On TV cameras seem to shift focus away from the ball whenever a player is down in pain. So if a player is diving like Sean Avery, the viewer is going to become annoyed seeing a guy roll around in agony until some holy water is sprayed on what ails them. In person, you just laugh as the referee ignores the player on the ground and you go back to following the ball. So if you hate diving, I suggest you watch a game live since it should change your perspective on the issue.

In the 81st minute, Defoe once again proved how much of a bloody big deal he is when he tied the game at 2-2. Absolute hysteria broke out in extra time when Brampton, Ontario’s own Doneil Henry scored to make it 3-2.

A few minutes later the game was over and TFC had won the Trillium Cup!

Pictured: Not the real Trillium Cup

Wait……what cup?

Pictured: Actual Trillium Cup

Pictured: Actual Trillium Cup

As Wikipedia told me later, TFC and the Columbus Crew play a two game series and whoever gets the most points in those two games, is awarded the Trillium Cup. So, be happy Toronto sport’s fans, your city was able to win some sort of cup this June! Yes, that joke was low hanging fruit.

As I rode the TFC bandwagon all the way home, I realized I had learned a lot about FUTBOL. It is definitely better experienced in person if you’re just a casual fan. You pick up a lot of details that just don’t come across through TV. So, if you’re ever in Toronto check out a TFC game- just don’t take the bloody 509 Harbour bus to get there.

Trillium Cup Photo by James. E Sokolowski (No Relation) and The Toronto Star

Leave a comment